For the Love of Wrestling…

You may ask…do you like wrestling? No! I LOVE wrestling. I believe my love for wrestling began as a small child in my grandma’s house. My uncle who was almost 15 years younger than my dad would visit and we would watch WWF wrestling. Now I know this isn’t real wrestling but I believe that’s where the madness started.

Picture it: jr. high student with high school wrestlers. What girl wouldn’t want to involve herself in that!?! I was the lowly jr. high mat stat who was responsible for tapping the ref when time expired. It wasn’t a luxurious job but it led me to the head stat table. So I worked myself up from the girl tapper to the head stat taking score at tournaments. There is something about watching a wrestling match…love it.

After high school, I didn’t have a chance to help our with wrestling team much more. I have longed to get involved again with a team and this year is my year.

About two weeks ago, I noticed an announcement recruiting girls for scoring… so I ran down to the athletic director. I wanted to lead the girls into their career of scoring or being a Mat Stat…The job was mine. I created a little handbook for them to reference as well. We have met twice to practice with scoring and we are looking forward to our first match on December 2…

Leave a comment